Launch of Brian Lynch’s The Woman Not The Name

Brian Lynch Invite
Invite to launch of Brian Lynch’s new novel. Click to enlarge

THE WOMAN NOT THE NAME tells the story of Will Ferris, a songwriter and amateur boxer from Cork. He’s only twenty-one, but he has a secret past for which he has already paid a heavy price. In late 2004 Will starts a weekly gig in a Dublin pub and has a brief fling with a sardonic lawyer in the Attorney General’s office, with disastrous consequences. Two of Will’s new friends grow to hate him.

One is a junior civil servant in the Department of Finance; the other a talented brute who teaches painting at the National College of Art and Design.

But Will has his admirers: a quick-witted window dresser from the Brown Thomas department store; the manager of a boy-band; and a final-year medical student, who is extraordinary because she doesn’t drink or do drugs.

The novel culminates in a mid-summer birthday party on the Vico Road in Dalkey and a murder trial at the Central Criminal Court, illustrated with photographs and a transcript of the evidence of an eyewitness.

A dark yet comic love story, The Woman Not The Name fuses a modern moral tale with the ancient myth of Orpheus.
Available from October 2013
Price: €10.00
Distribution:Robert Towers, Argosy Libraries and Eason Wholesale
Trade distributors: Argosy Libraries 01-823 9500 and
ISBN: 9780956837929
Format: 348 pages paperback

Brian Lynch was born in Dublin
in 1945. On the nomination of Samuel
Beckett and Michael Hartnett he
was elected to Aosdána in 1985. His
fi rst book, Endsville, was shared with
Paul Durcan and published in 1967.
His first novel The Winner of Sorrow was
published in 2005. His translation with
Peter Jankowsky of Paul Celan: 65 Poems
was published by Raven Books, Dublin, in
1985. He wrote the script for Love and Rage,
a feature fi lm directed by Cathal Black
in 1998, starring Daniel Craig and Greta
Scacchi. Caught in a Free State, about
German spies in Ireland during World
War 2, was directed by Peter Ormerod for
RTÉ and Channel 4 in 1984. A long poem
on Northern Ireland, Pity for the Wicked
was published with a preface by Conor
Cruise O’Brien, in 2005.

The Winner of Sorrow (New Island) was
shortlisted for the Hughes and Hughes
Novel of the Year award in 2006. John
Banville chose it as one of his books of the
year in The Irish Times and in The Guardian
described it as ‘a beautifully imagined novel
based on the life and work of the 18th-century
English poet William Cowper: moving, illuminating
and funny.’
Other reviews included:
‘Profoundly serious, but also warm, witty
and very beautiful’
— Nuala O’Faolain
‘Beautifully written… poignant, witty, a
nd profound’
— Clare Boylan
‘One of the fi nest Irish books of recent years’
— Eileen Battersby (The Irish Times)
‘It is Lynch’s ability to travel outside
himself which really makes this not
just a wonderful debut but a brilliant
novel full stop’.
— Eamonn Sweeney
(The Irish Book Review)
‘Never has a character in fi ction been
more alive to me… I wish Jane Austen
could read it – in heaven of course.’
— Samuel Menashe
‘A wonderful book.’
— Arminta Wallace (The Irish Times),
Rachel Andrews (The Sunday Tribune)